EGFF CARDIFF (RHOOSE) AIRPORT

Wales on Line has this contemporary account of ATC Cardiff in 2021

FFO

NATS Brochure on “Air Traffic Control at Cardiff-Wales Airport”

ATC at Cardiff Wales Airport Brochure 1984

EGFF aerodrome and approach control tower VCR June 1970FF1

EGFF Aerodrome control in tower VCR Nov 1997FF2

FF2 is Stu Coning. Ex Shackleton SIgnaller ( as were many more) Andy Amor

EGFF air traffic services engineering workshop Nov 1997FF3

EGFF Cardiff Approach Radar control Nov 1997FF4

The photo is of Pete Parry and is the copyright the Malcolm Bradbury. Malcolm thinks it was taken in the early 90s

The major roel of CAFU airraft was calibration and whilst flying calibration operations being highly visible was a real advantage. CAFU had adopted a black, red and white scheme not dissimilar to the red white and blue scheme use by the RAE. During about of corporate identity fever it was decreed the the CAFU fleet should adopt a corporate livery that was rather lacking in high visibility virtue.FF5

The major role of CAFU airraft was calibration and whilst flying calibration operations being highly visible was a real advantage. CAFU had adopted a black, red and white scheme not dissimilar to the red white and blue scheme use by the RAE. During about of corporate identity fever it was decreed the the CAFU fleet should adopt a corporate livery that was rather lacking in high visibility virtue.

EGFF Cardiff control tower with Ryanair BAC1-11 November 1997FF6

EGFF Cardiff Rhoose control tower with Air Europe 737FF7

EGFF control tower and radar new build Sept 1972FF8

EGFF control tower new build 1 September 1972FF9

EGFF tels equipment roomFF10

EGFF tower and radar from terminal observation terrace Nov 1997FF11

EGFF VCR Control positionsFF12

In the back ground) is …. me! Andy Amor.

EGFF_1a

FF13

Cardiff

FF14

FF15

FF16

12 thoughts on “EGFF CARDIFF (RHOOSE) AIRPORT”

    1. Absolutely Ross. I remember the battle of the OK Corral in the original VCR when somebody, if only I could remember who? fired a bird scarer down the Lampson tube and temporarily deafened, Doc Holliday, better known as the late Dennis John.

      Like

  1. After air europe 1989 cardiff florida movements believe ae126 was code for flight any idea am I correct ???

    Like

  2. Hello Jeff. I remember you well from my brief spell at Cardiff in ’82. I’m sure you’ll recall the incident with the Dragon microlight which force landed in the dip off the end of what was 30 and then took off without clearance? I was sitting on the ADC ATCA desk when the pilot walked into the VCR unannounced and took issue with being Mor’d!!! All rather embarrasing really, as he was my uncle! I also remember you visiting East Mids to sample us, including checking out one of our LCE’s. I was the guinea pig on ADC who was set up by the ****wit in radar who presented me with an Andover E3 flight checking the Cottesmore Tacan pointing straight at traffic on the ILS . The first question at the subsequent debrief was rather predictably about uses of the ATM! We would have all been pleased if you’d booked the radar ATCO!

    Like

    1. Hi Mark
      I had forgotten about the Microlight incident so thanks for the reminder. I always enjoyed visiting EGNX which I always considered a paragon of virtue. Well managed with excellent controllers and good equipment. Sadly, all a long time ago!! All the best for your future and please remember me to anyone old enough to remember those times.
      Cheers Jeff

      Like

  3. The lead picture here titled “FFO is this the old Cardiff Tower?” Is not Cardiff…not even the right country! It is Prestwick Tower, dated from the early 80’s or a little earlier. I did 6 Weeks “famil” at Cardiff in Sept -Oct 82, and after my licensing and aerodrome courses was lucky enough to be posted to be posted to Prestwick at the end of March 83. This was the ADC desk I worked at until I jumped ship at the end of 89. Zoom in, and you can see the layout of the main apron stands tho the rhs of the strip boards -we couldn’t see the apron from the tower, and it was useful to know where aeroplanes were parked. Note the hood for the old DFTI on the rhs stuffed with the rag we used to rub off the chinagraph writing we used to write on the apron layout. I’ve racked by brains trying to identify the ATCO, and the only candidate from my era would be JF?
    Mark Howell
    EGNX since jumping ship.

    Like

    1. The old Cardiff Tower closed in 1970/71 and did not have what look suspiciously like a DFTI in the centre of the desk. If Mark was in Cardiff in 1982 he was definitely in the modern tower which was then over 10 years old. As he says this is not Cardiff.

      Like

  4. Pic FF4 Yes it is Pete Parry. I know because I am the Copyright holder of the photograph. I took it! Yes you can use it but a photo credit would be nice please. Malcolm Bradbury. I should have a date in my files somewher when I took it but it would be early nineties.

    Like

    1. Hi folks Image FF11 features from left to right Dave Powick I think, Maurice Whippey, Jeff Dennis and unknown
      Cheers Jeff D

      Like

Leave a comment